Wild Gestures Review

Wild Gestures cover
Wild Gestures

The first review of Lucy Durneen’s short story collection Wild Gestures has appeared in Books+Publishing and we couldn’t possibly be happier:

‘This is an intriguing collection of short stories where things are seldom what they seem and characters are preoccupied by their past actions. Shaped less by plot than by precise and evocative imagery, they are psychologically acute portraits of people dealing with grief or change.’

‘The stories can be bleakly funny; when one character’s heart freezes over, she compares the spread of ice with the spread of cancer, coolly remarking that both seem inevitable if you don’t heed the standard warnings.’

‘There is something vicious at the heart of these stories, something dark which unfurls and unsettles. In UK writer Lucy Durneen, MidnightSun has found someone who revels in the imaginative possibilities of language while simultaneously exploring its inability to adequately express what people mean. Distinguished by its measured yet speculative style, these stories will appeal to readers of Cate Kennedy and Mary Gaitskill.’

4.5 out of 5 stars

Hilary Simmons is a former assistant editor at Books+Publishing and a freelance writer, copywriter and editor

You can read the entire review here: https://www.booksandpublishing.com.au/articles/2016/09/27/74021/wild-gestures-lucy-durneen-midnightsun/

It is the top book with most stars for the month of January!

Keep an eye out for Wild Gestures to kickstart the MidnightSun Year of Stories 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *